Thursday, June 22, 2017

2017 NBA Draft Lottery

*Picks represent what teams should do and not what they will do.

1) PHI - Lonzo Ball, UCLA
2) LAL - Markelle Fultz, Washington
3) BOS - Josh Jackson, Kansas
4) PHX - Lauri Markkanen, Arizona
5) SAC - De'Aaron Fox, Kentucky
6) ORL - Jonathan Isaac, Florida State
7) MIN - Malik Monk, Kentucky
8) NYK - Jayson Tatum, Duke
9) DAL - Dennis Smith, North Carolina State
10) SAC - OG Anunoby, Indiana
11) CHA - Frank Ntilikina, International
12) DET - Donovan Mitchell, Louisville
13) DEN - Justin Patton, Creighton
14) MIA - Harry Giles, Duke

Friday, April 14, 2017

2016-17 NCAA Honors & Awards

1st Team All-American
Lonzo Ball, UCLA [fr]
Frank Mason, Kansas [sr]
Josh Hart, Villanova [sr]
Dillon Brooks, Oregon [jr]
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue [soph]

2nd Team All-American
Nigel Williams-Goss, Gonzaga [jr]
Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina [sr]
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame [jr]
Johnathan Motley, Baylor [jr]
Alec Peters, Valparaiso [sr]

All-Defensive Team
Jevon Carter, West Virginia [jr]
Jordan Bell, Oregon [jr]
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin [soph]
Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech [jr]
Reggie Lynch, Minnesota [jr]

All-Freshman Team
Lonzo Ball, UCLA
De'Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Malik Monk, Kentucky
Josh Jackson, Kansas

Player of the Year: Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Top Defender: Jordan Bell, Oregon
Best Freshman: Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Coach of the Year: Mark Few, Gonzaga

Thursday, April 6, 2017

2016-17 Conference Honors & Awards

Robert Gray, Houston [jr]
Damyean Dotson, Houston [sr]
Dedric Lawson, Memphis [soph]
Semi Ojeleye, Southern Methodist [jr]
Tacko Fall, Central Florida [soph]

Player of the Year: Semi Ojeleye, Southern Methodist
Top Defender: Tacko Fall, Central Florida
Best Freshman: K.J. Lawson, Memphis
Coach of the Year: Tim Jankovich, Southern Methodist

Donovan Mitchell, Louisville [soph]
Luke Kennard, Duke [soph]
Justin Jackson, North Carolina [jr]
Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame [jr]
John Collins, Wake Forest [soph]

Player of the Year: Bonzie Colson, Notre Dame
Top Defender: Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech
Best Freshman: Jayson Tatum, Duke
Coach of the Year: Mike Brey, Notre Dame

All-Big East
Jalen Brunson, Villanova [soph]
Josh Hart, Villanova [sr]
Trevon Blueitt, Xavier [jr]
Kelan Martin, Butler [jr]
Angel Delgado, Seton Hall [jr]

Player of the Year: Josh Hart, Villanova
Top Defender: Mikal Bridges, Villanova
Best Freshman: Shamorie Ponds, St. John's
Coach of the Year: Chris Holtmann, Butler

All-Big Ten
Melo Trimble, Maryland [jr]
Derrick Walton, Michigan [sr]
Bronson Koenig, Wisconsin [sr]
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin [soph]
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue [soph]

Player of the Year: Caleb Swanigan, Purdue
Top Defender: Ethan Happ, Wisconsin
Best Freshman: Miles Bridges, Michigan State
Coach of the Year: Chris Collins, Northwestern

All-Big 12
Monte Morris, Iowa State [sr]
Frank Mason, Kansas [sr]
Jawun Evans, Oklahoma State [soph]
Jevon Carter, West Virginia [jr]
Johnathan Motley, Baylor [jr]

Player of the Year: Frank Mason, Kansas
Top Defender: Jevon Carter, West Virginia
Best Freshman: Josh Jackson, Kansas
Coach of the Year: Bob Huggins, West Virginia

Lonzo Ball, UCLA [fr]
Markelle Fultz, Washington [fr]
Dillon Brooks, Oregon [jr]
TJ Leaf, UCLA [fr]
Jordan Bell, Oregon [jr]

Player of the Year: Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Top Defender: Jordan Bell, Oregon
Best Freshman: Lonzo Ball, UCLA
Coach of the Year: Sean Miller, Arizona

De'Aaron Fox, Kentucky [fr]
Malik Monk, Kentucky [fr]
Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina [sr]
Sebastian Saiz, Mississippi [sr]
Bam Adebayo, Kentucky [fr]

Player of the Year: Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Top Defender: Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Best Freshman: De'Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Coach of the Year: Mike White, Florida

Monday, April 3, 2017

Tar Heels Earn Sixth Championship Banner

...and are a Kris Jenkins game winner away from back-to-back titles.

Sunday, March 12, 2017

Bracket Reaction: Nine Notes

1. This is the first time in the now nine-year history of RBP that the Selection Committee has gotten it right.  So, while the seeding was still a little off, at least the most deserving 68 teams are in the field.

2. The Big Ten has been down this year, and the Selection Committee took notice.  No Big Ten school got better than a 4 seed.  Purdue, the Big Ten regular season champ, picked up the 4, while the league's co-runners-up, Maryland and Wisconsin, received 6 and 8 seeds, respectively.  Confusingly, both Minnesota (5) and Michigan (7) were awarded lower seeds than Wisconsin.  The Wolverines at least won the conference tourney and finished 2-1 versus the Badgers this season.  Minnesota, on the other hand, finished a game behind Wisconsin, failed to advance as far in the conference tourney, and lost twice to the Badgers.

3.  Coming into the tournament as the defending champ with the fewest losses since '92 Duke, Villanova gets rewarded with...Wisconsin as its 8 seed.  The Badgers are the strongest 8 seed since Kentucky in '14.  That year the Wildcats knocked off 1 seed Wichita State in the Round of 32.

4.  Speaking of Wichita State and Kentucky, the Shockers are an extremely strong 10 seed.  First Gregg Marshall's squad will need to get past A-10 regular season champion Dayton, but Kentucky could be looking at Ken Pomeroy's 8th ranked team nationally in the Round of 32.

5.  The Selection Committee did Kentucky no favors, placing the Cats in a region that includes both North Carolina and UCLA.  While the Tar Heels likely will have to contend with either Kentucky or UCLA to advance to the Final Four, the top half of the South Region sets up nicely for Roy Williams' squad.  RBP ranks the Heels' 4 (Butler), 5 (Minnesota), and 8 (Arkansas) seeds as the weakest at each of those positions across the entire bracket.

6. Given their overall records, Vanderbilt (4 games over .500) and Michigan State (5 games over .500) have no business being 9 seeds, even in a weak field.  Both should have been headed to Dayton to play their way into the Field of 64.

7.  The Selection Committee released its 1-68 rankings of the tourney field.  Comparing those rankings to RBP's rankings (see previous post), we can see who the Committee is overvaluing and undervaluing.  The Selection Committee is overvaluing -- Vanderbilt (+13), Michigan State (+13), Minnesota (+12), Butler (+11), and Seton Hall (+8).  It is undervaluing -- Wichita State (-13), Wisconsin (-12), Middle Tennessee (-12), Nevada (-8), and Vermont (-8).  RBP and the Selection Committee agreed on Villanova (1), ETSU (52), South Dakota State (64), and Mount St. Mary's (68).

8. Here are the teams included in RBP's preseason top 25 that did not make the tourney -- Indiana (4), Syracuse (14), California (17), Connecticut (21), Texas (22), and Texas A&M (24).

9. With a healthy Chris Boucher, Oregon comes out of the Midwest and is RBP's pick for the title.  Without Boucher, the Ducks' third leading scorer and the Pac-12's top shot blocker, the Ducks will be hard-pressed to advance beyond the Sweet 16.